On Thursday, April 17, 2014, The Jefferson Parish Sheriff’s Office will be conducting a DWI checkpoint at an undisclosed location on the east bank of Jefferson Parish. The checkpoint will take place from 8pm until 2 am.
While the location of the checkpoint has been undisclosed, expect it to take place in a location known for a high rate of drunk driving incidents.
Be sure to be careful and remember to have your driver’s license on you if you are getting behind the wheel.
If you get stopped at the checkpoint be sure to cooperate with police officers. While you don’t have to answer any questions without a lawyer present, it’s important to remember to not act belligerent or aggressive. It can result in additional charges for resisting arrest.
The penalties for a first DWI in Louisiana include a driver’s license suspension that can last up to 90 days, up to 6 months in jail, and fines that can cost you up to a thousand dollars.
If you get arrested for a DWI in Louisiana, it’s important to contact a DWI lawyer right away. A DUI lawyer in Louisiana can look over your case and make your rights are in tact.
With the help of an experienced drunk driving attorney, you can possibly get your charges reduced or dropped altogether. Don’t plead guilty to your Louisiana DWI charges. Contact a lawyer today.